Turks & Caicos: Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson and her PDM headed for electoral victory

Turks & Caicos Opposition leader, Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson

The Opposition People`s Democratic Movement (PDM) led by Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson seems like the clear winner of Thursday’s election in the Turks & Caicos Islands, according to initial results.

As of late last night, the People`s Democratic Movement was leading the ruling Progressive National Party (PNP) led by Premier Dr. Rufus Ewing, 7-3.

Cartwright-Robinson led her team – called “The Dream Team” – to the election and had accused the Ewing-led administration of having led the Turks & Caicos into an “abyss” for which the citizens are suffering.

The PDM had promised all citizens that they will have a “fair share” of the wealth of the Turks & Caicos Islands if it is elected to office.
Cartwright-Robinson had said if elected into office, her administration would work to make all citizens shareholders of this wealth fund, and disburse shares to them from birth, which they can cash in at retirement.

Voters in the Turks & Caicos Islands went to the polls on Thursday, December 15, 2016 to elect a new government. They voters had 3 choices: the ruling Progressive National Party (PNP); the PDM and the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) led by Oswald Skippings.

Polling stations closed at 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m. EST) last night. Thirty one candidates across the 10 Electoral Districts in the Turks & Caicos Islands and an additional 21 contested the election.

The elected Premier serves a 4-year term. In the Legislative Council, 13 members are elected by simple majority in single-member ridings and 3 members are appointed by the governor, the government, and the opposition. The remaining 3 seats are reserved for the Speaker of the House, the Chief Secretary, and the Attorney General. – (NAN)